WWE Greatest Superstars of the 21st Century Blu-Ray Review

*Blu-Ray Exclusive Extras are included in Overall Thoughts*

Disc One,

Documentary – I was waiting for this one to come out since late 2009 and I have to say it exceeded my expectations. I really enjoyed watching this one and it was not only easy to sit through but fun to watch. I would say this was the best “Greatest Superstars” series of the three. There were definitely a lot more positives than negative on this. The thing I liked most is that there was no order of who was better than whom, everybody was put over equally. I was a bit shocked that they put over Kurt Angle and Jeff Hardy the way they did when they usually don’t do that for guys in the other promotion and glad they looked passed that. I did like the layout of how they presented the Superstars by highlighting their careers and having other talent put them over like they usually do. Also the small introduction in the beginning with some stats of their careers I found cool. They definitely missed the boat on putting Rob Van Dam on this list and arguably Mick Foley, Ric Flair and CM Punk, but I do understand if they were on a limit of who to include. They did miss some stuff in a few of the bios more notably skipping over Undertaker’s American Badass gimmick. This definitely should have been talked about being it was some of the greatest years of his career. I also don’t feel they talked enough about Booker T’s pre-King Booker work and Shawn Michaels’ nWo run in 02. Also, I didn’t think Santino should have been interviewed for this whatsoever and that The Miz came off as a babyface. Other than those minor issues I don’t really have any other complaints. This didn’t come off biased at all and everybody included in the list were given credit. This is one of my favorite documentaries of the year, up there with “The True Story of WrestleMania” and I can see myself watching this again down the road.

– The Rock vs. Booker T (SummerSlam ’01) *** ¼

– Chris Jericho vs. Rob Van Dam (Raw 9/16/02) ***

– Triple H vs. Kane (Raw 6/23/03) ** ½

Brock Lesnar vs. Kurt Angle (Ironman Match) (SmackDown 9/18/03) **** ¼

– Eddie Guerrero vs. Rey Mysterio (SmackDown 3/18/04) *** ¾

Overall Disc One: 8.5

Disc Two,

– JBL vs. Undertaker vs. Eddie Guerrero vs. Booker T (Armageddon ’04) *** ½

– JBL vs. Big Show vs. Kurt Angle (Royal Rumble ’05) ***

– Triple H vs. Edge (Raw 2/7/05) *** ¼

– Lita vs. Trish Stratus (Unforgiven ’06) ** ¾

– Shawn Michaels vs. Randy Orton vs. Edge (Raw 2/5/07) ***

– John Cena, HBK, Batista & Undertaker vs. Mr. Kennedy, MVP & Rated RKO (Raw 2/15/07) *** ¼

Batista vs. Undertaker (WrestleMania 23) ****

– Randy Orton vs. Triple H vs. John Cena vs. JBL (Backlash ’08) ****

– Batista vs. Chris Jericho vs. JBL vs. Kane vs. Rey Mysterio (Unforgiven ’08) ***

– CM Punk vs. Jeff Hardy (TLC Match) (SummerSlam ’09) *** ¾

Overall Disc Two: 8.5

Overall Thoughts – Like I said before, this is my favorite documentary out of the three “Greatest Superstars” series, but the matches might have been slightly better in the 90’s release. Don’t get me wrong, as you can see the matches on this on this are definitely not bad at all. For some reason, everybody on the documentary were in at least one match except for Stone Cold and if it’s not the Blu-Ray, Jeff Hardy. I think Austin should have had a match on here no questions asked. They also put on a lot of multi-man matches on the second disc to fit everybody on, which makes sense due to the time they have but the matches that were chosen I had no problem with. They did feature a perfect amount of television matches on the set, including the Ironman match between Angle and Lesnar in its entirety which I was very happy about. The Blu-Ray exclusive extras were really well picked; they featured both funny and important segments. I think disc two featured the better extras but disc one had some good stuff. My personal favorite out of all of them is the Jericho heel turn which I feel deserved to be on here. The Kurt Angle “You Suck” segment was also very funny and I was glad they put that on there. This set also featured a couple of forgotten matches like Triple H/Edge from Japan and Eddie Guerrero/Rey Mysterio for the WWE Championship. I totally forgot about both of those matches but now I’m glad to have them. Like I said before, the Ironman match definitely is a reason to pick this one up on top of the stacked documentary. I also really liked the artwork for it where its guys like Brock Lesnar, Kurt Angle, Booker T and even JBL’s first cover in quite a while. You might want to pick up the Blu-Ray version of this obviously for the bonus content and matches that makes it better. If you decide to pick this up on standard DVD, the Overall Score doesn’t really change that much if any at all. I would probably say this is the best WWE release of the year and my personal favorite.

Recommended? – Yes

Overall Score: 8.5

Leave a Reply

